Shiitake Mushroom

Spiralling back to ground zero. #2

I was too tired from everything that happened the past week, and unable to process it I fell asleep soon.

Waking up around 7AM the next day I called my boyfriend to ask what to do and my manager was not picking up as she was the only one dealing with my travel and stay. Since the mistake was my side of missing the flight. My boyfriend helped me book another flight for me that was scheduled to leave Ahemadabad around 9PM that day. Maanvi called and said she was on her way to help me out. Together we went to the reception where they tried to pin things on me saying the cab was waiting and it couldn't be rescheduled all the unwanted stories and there was quite an argument there and they agreed to call the cab for the paid amount.

After all this, we went to have breakfast. Suddenly I got a call from hotel reception saying "Mam you have to check out now our hotel is fully booked for a wedding." I was like, Everything was sorted out and my Checkout time was only 2PM. My Manager on another line asked what happened? Did you miss your flight? Explaining everything to her she said she'll talk to the hotel. But nothing helped so I went back to the hotel to check out.

The whole place was crowded with people in fancy festival clothes, As I entered everyone looked at me at the same time so sternly and I sensed something was wrong as I noticed an old grumpy lady talking to the receptionist looking at me like they were talking about me. I informed the receptionist that I'd be checking out now. Leaving my luggage at the hotel luggage counter to pick it up later. I left to meet my boss.

We had a small meeting and discussed tasks for the upcoming week. Maanvi, Sana and I left the site for lunch and to catch my cab. We grabbed some Vada pav as we weren't hungry and had a small chit-chat. Later, they dropped me back to the hotel.

Having an hour to kill, I decided to sit inside the hotel lobby and read my book. That was when this old grumpy lady and a person next to her kept looking at me making some comments and ignoring them again to save my sanity I continued reading. Then the grumpy lady started to question me

"Are you going to Ahemadabad to catch a flight, Did you miss one? Do you live in Chennai?"

Startled at her questions I nodded with a poker face wondering why would a random lady need to know details about me. What kind of hotel would do this just because they are fully booked by this lady. Being pissed off with what the hotel people had done already. I just felt like leaving the city as soon as possible.

The cab arrived early and I started my journey to the airport. Vadodara expressway is huge and empty with very few service lanes in between. As I was about to calm down, This cab stopped in the middle of nowhere on the highway. This driver stepped down and was talking to someone on the phone. Clueless, I sat inside the car and one of my friends called me. Talking to him, I was trying to make sure nothing went wrong.

I saw another car pulling off right beside the cab I was sitting on. Both the driver shaking their hands and talking, they opened the car boot. Scared, I continued making some conversation with my friend on the phone. That's when I saw that my cab driver was borrowing water from the other. Relieved and smiling I thought if that's what he wanted I had two bottles and would have given him one.

Anyway, From there my journey started again.

To be continued...